There are 3 categories of Tawhid, which are commonly referred to by the following titles:

  • Tawhid ar-Rububiyah (literally, “Maintaining the Unity of Lordship”), that is, affirming that Allah is One, without partners in His Sovereignty.
  • Tawhid al-Asma’ was-Sifat (literally, “Maintaining the Unity of Allah’s Names and Attributes”), that is, affirming that Allah’s Names and Attributes are incomparable and unique.
  • Tawhid al-Ibadah (literally, “Maintaining the Unity of Allah in our Worships”), that is, affirming that Allah is the only God in His right to be worshipped.

Leave a Comment